There’s not a plant or flower below, but makes Your glories known;
And clouds arise, and tempests blow, by order of Your throne;
While all that borrows life from You is ever in Your care,
And everywhere that man can be, You, God, are present there.

This is a verse of the old hymn written by Isaac Watts I Sing the Mighty Power of God.  I have never actually heard this hymn sung before; I have only ever read the written lyrics.  However, the poetry is beautiful, and it makes me stop for a moment in the midst of life and ponder:

If all of creation declares God’s glories constantly, why do I–a being with a soul and intellect–not?

If the flowers of the field, which have no capacity for thought or action of their own, can do such an incredible task, I have no excuse.  I must declare the glory of God in every aspect of my life–word, thought, deed–constantly as well.

For God deserves nothing less.

